West Tennessee Rural Planning Organization (WTRPO) Technical Committee and Executive Board Joint Meeting Minutes

UT Martin Somerville Center, Chickasaw Community Somerville, TN

May 31, 2022 10:05 a.m. CST

Executive Board Voting Members Present

Hon. Rhea "Skip" Taylor, Mayor of Fayette County, Chairman

Hon. Maurice Gaines Jr., Mayor of Lauderdale County, Vice Chairman

Mr. Glen Stringfellow, Building Inspector, City of Munford (Proxy Hon. Dwayne Cole, Mayor of Munford)

Mr. William Veazey, Director of Planning for Tipton County (Proxy Executive Huffman of Tipton County)

Executive Board Voting Members Absent

Hon. Dwayne Cole, Mayor of Munford

Executive Jeff Huffman, Mayor of Tipton County

Hon. Ronnie Neil, Mayor of Somerville

Hon. Eugene Pugh, Mayor of Halls

Senator Paul Rose, District 32

Representative Chris Hurt, District 82

Technical Committee Voting Members Present

Mr. Derek Kissell, Road Superintendent, Lauderdale County

Ms. Mendi Donnelly, Community Development Director, Town of Somerville

Mr. Danny Hartsfield, Lauderdale County Director of Maintenance, Lauderdale County

Mr. Wayne Dowdy, Fayette County Public Works Director, Fayette County

Mr. Marc Woerner, Town Administrator, Atoka, TN

Mr. Ralph Moore, MAAG Executive Director

Hon. Craig Fitzhugh, Mayor, Ripley, TN

Technical Committee Voting Members Absent

Mr. Shannon Reed, Public Works Director, Tipton County

Ms. Pragati Srivastava, MPO Representative

Mr. Hugh Davis Jr., Citizen Representative, Commissioner of Piperton

Mr. Robert Turner, Town Administrator, City of Somerville

Also Present

Ms. Kamillah Kelly, MAAG-WTRPO Coordinator

Mr. Shelton Merrell, SWTDD-RPO Coordinator, Virtual Attendee

Ms. Thiera Taylor, Community Transportation Planner, OCT Region 4, TDOT

Ms. Ashley Owens, Senior Community Transportation Planner, OCT Region 4, TDOT

Mr. Antoine Hawkins, Planning Supervisor, OCT Region 4, TDOT

Ms. Virginia Rivers, Vice-Mayor, Mason, TN

Mr. Ordis Copeland, TNECD

Ms. Norma Davis, Mason, TN

Ms. Katie McGinnis, TDOT

Mr. Gary Scruggs, TDOT

1. Call to Order/Welcome/Introductions

Executive Board Chair Hon. Mayor Rhea "Skip" Taylor called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m.

2. Roll Call

Ms. Kelly called the roll, and Mayor Taylor approved the **Established Quorum for the Meeting.**

3. **Approval of Executive Board and Technical Committees Meeting Minutes Discussion:** Mr. Woerner requested that the WTRPO December 6, 2022, minutes be corrected to reflect Mr. Marc Woerner as the proper Tipton County municipal representative for the WTRPO technical committee. **MOTION** by Mr. Derek Kissell to approve; **SECONDED** by Mr. William Veazey. Unanimously **APPROVED**.

4. **Bylaws-Legislative Information**

Changed section 3.1.a.3. of the WTRPO bylaws to state, "Five state legislative members or their designees (two senators and three representatives)."

Changed section 3.3.a. to state, "The Executive Board chair may declare a quorum with one-third of the WTRPO Executive Board voting members present."

Added to section 5.2.b. of the WTRPO bylaws to state, "If the vice-chairperson is not available, the WTRPO Executive Board can elect a voting member of the WTRPO Executive Board to call to order and conduct the WTRPO Executive Board meeting."

Changed section 9.3.a. to state, "The Technical Committee chair may declare a quorum with one-third of the WTRPO Technical Committee voting members present."

Added to section 11.2.b. of the WTRPO bylaws to state, "If the vice-chairperson is not available, the WTRPO Technical Committee Board can elect a voting member of the WTRPO Technical Committee to call to order and conduct the WTRPO Technical Committee meeting."

Added Robert's Rules of Order section 14.1 to the WTRPO bylaws to state, "When there is conflict within the WTRPO by-law procedures, the WTRPO shall follow the current Robert's Rules of Order."

5. Approval of the WTRPO Bylaws-Updates

MOTION by Mr. William Veazey to approve the updated WTRPO bylaws; **SECONDED** by Mayor Gaines. Unanimously **APPROVED**.

6. Multimodal Access Grant Updates

Mr. Robert Johnson virtually stated the Multimodal Access Grant deadlines and the number of applicants TDOT received from the WTRPO area.

7. WTRPO Updates

Ms. Kelly announced the Transportation Planning Grant (CTPG) awardees for the WTRPO area and the State of Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development request for proposals for West Tennessee Community Planning Services.

8. **TDOT Updates**

Mr. Hawkins shared updates on the Tennessee Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Deployment Plan and the new TDOT commissioner.

9. **Other Business**

No other business.

10. **Public Comment**

No public comment.

11. **Adjournment**

Mayor Taylor announced adjournment at 10:51 a.m. Unanimously **APPROVED** by standing.