# West Tennessee Rural Planning Organization (WTRPO) Technical Committee and Executive Board Joint Meeting Minutes

UT Martin Somerville Center, Chickasaw Community Somerville, TN

December 8, 2022 2:06 pm CST

#### **Executive Board Voting Members Present**

Hon. Rhea "Skip" Taylor, Mayor of Fayette County, Chairman
Hon. Maurice Gaines, Mayor of Lauderdale County, Vice Chairman
Mr. William Veazey, Director of Planning for Tipton County (Proxy for Executive Huffman of Tipton County)
Mr. Glen Stringfellow, Building Inspector, City of Munford (Proxy for Hon. Dwayne Cole, Mayor of Munford)
Hon. Eugene Pugh, Mayor of Halls
Hon. Ronnie Neil, Mayor of Somerville
Mr. Dale McCaslin (Proxy for Representative Chris Hurt, District 82)

## **Executive Board Voting Members Absent**

Hon. Dwayne Cole, Mayor of Munford Executive Jeff Huffman, Mayor of Tipton County Senator Paul Rose, District 32

## **Technical Committee Voting Members Present**

Ms. Mendi Donnelly, Community Development Director, Town of Somerville
Mr. Danny Hartsfield, Lauderdale County Director of Maintenance, Lauderdale County
Mr. Robert Turner, Town Administrator, City of Somerville
Hon. Craig Fitzhugh, Mayor, Ripley, TN
Mr. Marc Woerner, Town Administrator, Atoka, TN
Mr. Wayne Dowdy, Fayette County Public Works Director, Fayette County
Mr. Alex Wilson (Proxy for Mr. Derek Kissell, Road Superintendent, Lauderdale County)
Mr. Ralph Moore, MAAG Executive Director
Mr. Hugh Davis Jr., Citizen Representative, Commissioner of Piperton

## **Technical Committee Voting Members Absent**

Ms. Pragati Srivastava, Memphis MPO Representative Mr. Shannon Reed, Public Works Director, Tipton County

## <u>Also Present</u>

Ms. Kamillah Kelly, MAAG-WTRPO Coordinator Mr. Antoine Hawkins, Community Transportation Planner Supervisor, OCT Region 4, TDOT Ms. Ashley Owens, Senior Community Transportation Planner, OCT Region 4, TDOT Ms. Cyndi Timbs, Covington, TN Ms. Jan Hensley, Covington, TN Representative Debra Moody, District 81 Mayor Eddie Noeman, Mason, TN Mr. Joe Barker, SWTDD Ms. Rachel Powers, ECD Ms. Virginia Rivers, Vice-Mayor, Mason, TN Mr. Sam Jordan, A2H Mr. David Smith, A2H Mr. Shelton Merrell, SWTDD-RPO Coordinator, Virtual Attendee Ms. Bethany Brock, NWTDD-RPO Coordinator, Virtual Attendee Ms. Thiera Taylor, Community Transportation Planner, Virtual Attendees Mr. Stacy Morrison, TDOT, Virtual Attendee

#### 1. Call to Order/Welcome/Introductions

Executive Board Chair Hon. Mayor Rhea "Skip" Taylor called the meeting to order at 2:06 pm.

## 2. Roll Call

Ms. Kelly called the roll, and Mayor Taylor approved the <u>Established Quorum for the</u> <u>Meeting</u>.

## 3. Blue Oval Impact-ECD

Ms. Rachel Powers Selbe presented on Blue Oval Impact to the WTRPO.

## 4. TDOT WTRPO Project Prioritization Review

Ms. Kelly presented the WTRPO Project Prioritization list.

5. **Open voting for Project Prioritization Voting Form-Technical Committee** WTRPO Technical Committee voted via Survey Monkey with a wait time of 20 minutes.

## 6. Results of TDOT WTRPO Project Prioritizations

Ms. Kelly presented the results of the Survey Monkey. The WTRPO did not like the format of the Survey Monkey results and requested to do an oral vote for TDOT WTRPO Project Prioritization. The WTRPO discussed the meaningfulness of projects.

## 7. Motion & Adjournment

Mr. Marc Woerner makes a **MOTION** to adjourn the WTRPO Technical Committee and Executive Board joint meeting so the WTRPO Technical Committee can meet separately to rank TDOT WTRPO Projects by an oral vote. **SECONDED** by William Veazey. Unanimously **APPROVED at 3:46 pm**.

## 8. WTRPO Technical Committee and Executive Board Joint Meeting Reconvene Call to Order

Executive Board Chair Hon. Mayor Rhea "Skip" Taylor called the meeting to order at 3:56 pm.

- 9. **Motion to accept the WTRPO Technical Committee ranking and submit to TDOT MOTION** by Mayor Gaines **SECOND** by Mayor Pugh
- 10. **Blue Oval Updates** Mr. Joe Barker presented briefly on Blue Oval updates.
- 11. **Other Business** No other business.
- 12. **Public Comment** No public comment.

## 13. Adjournment

**MOTION** by Mayor Gaines to adjourn. Unanimously **APPROVED** by standing at 4:00 pm.