# West Tennessee Rural Planning Organization (WTRPO) Technical Committee Minutes

UT Martin Somerville Center, Chickasaw Community Somerville, TN

December 8, 2022 3:46 pm CST

## **Executive Board Voting Members Present**

Hon. Rhea "Skip" Taylor, Mayor of Fayette County, Chairman

Hon. Maurice Gaines, Mayor of Lauderdale County, Vice Chairman

Mr. William Veazey, Director of Planning for Tipton County (Proxy for Executive Huffman of Tipton County)

Mr. Glen Stringfellow, Building Inspector, City of Munford (Proxy for Hon. Dwayne Cole, Mayor of Munford)

Hon. Eugene Pugh, Mayor of Halls

Hon. Ronnie Neil, Mayor of Somerville

Mr. Dale McCaslin (Proxy for Representative Chris Hurt, District 82)

# **Executive Board Voting Members Absent**

Hon. Dwayne Cole, Mayor of Munford

Executive Jeff Huffman, Mayor of Tipton County

Senator Paul Rose, District 32

#### **Technical Committee Voting Members Present**

Ms. Mendi Donnelly, Community Development Director, Town of Somerville

Mr. Danny Hartsfield, Lauderdale County Director of Maintenance, Lauderdale County

Mr. Robert Turner, Town Administrator, City of Somerville

Hon. Craig Fitzhugh, Mayor, Ripley, TN

Mr. Marc Woerner, Town Administrator, Atoka, TN

Mr. Wayne Dowdy, Fayette County Public Works Director, Fayette County

Mr. Alex Wilson (Proxy for Mr. Derek Kissell, Road Superintendent, Lauderdale County)

Mr. Ralph Moore, MAAG Executive Director

Mr. Hugh Davis Jr., Citizen Representative, Commissioner of Piperton

#### **Technical Committee Voting Members Absent**

Ms. Pragati Srivastava, Memphis MPO Representative

Mr. Shannon Reed, Public Works Director, Tipton County

#### Also Present

Ms. Kamillah Kelly, MAAG-WTRPO Coordinator

Mr. Antoine Hawkins, Community Transportation Planner Supervisor, OCT Region 4, TDOT

Ms. Ashley Owens, Senior Community Transportation Planner, OCT Region 4, TDOT

Ms. Cyndi Timbs, Covington, TN

Ms. Jan Hensley, Covington, TN

Representative Debra Moody, District 81

Mayor Eddie Noeman, Mason, TN

Mr. Joe Barker, SWTDD

Ms. Rachel Powers, ECD

Ms. Virginia Rivers, Vice-Mayor, Mason, TN

Mr. Sam Jordan, A2H

Mr. David Smith, A2H

Mr. Shelton Merrell, SWTDD-RPO Coordinator, Virtual Attendee

Ms. Bethany Brock, NWTDD-RPO Coordinator, Virtual Attendee

Ms. Thiera Taylor, Community Transportation Planner, Virtual Attendees

Mr. Stacy Morrison, TDOT, Virtual Attendee

## 1. Call to Order

WTRPO Technical Committee Chairman Robert Turner called the meeting to order at 3:46 pm.

# 2. Roll Call

Ms. Kelly called the roll, and the quorum was established.

# 3. Technical Committee

Chairman Robert Turner called out the individual projects, and the WTRPO Technical Committee ranked projects by oral vote. The results are listed below.

# 4. TDOT WTRPO Project Ranking Results

PIN	County	Description	Remaining Phases	Total Cost (mil)	Project Type	Route	Committed/Proposed	RPO	MPO	Project Length	Score	Comments
							1					
102242	Tioton	From East of SR-384(Mt Carmel Road) to SR-59 (IA)	Construction	\$37.60	Safety improvements only	SR-14	Proposed	WT	N/A	3.7	2	
		The second secon		237.00					-			
		From East of Eastland Avenue to Haywood County Line			Reconstruct existing 2-in to a super 2-in (12 foot lanes with 10							
102251.01	Lauderdale	(***) (IA)	Construction	\$11.80	foot shoulders and improve sight distances)	SR-19	Proposed	WT	N/A	3.1	1	
					ITS Expansion including CCTVs, Radar Detection Systems,							
		ITS Expansion on I-269 from I-40 Southward to the			Environmental Sensor Systems, and DMS, west bound I-40 Travel							
124755	Shelby, Fayette	Mississippi State Line (IA)	Construction	\$10.50	Time Sign, and supporting ITS infrastructure	1-269	Proposed	WT	Memphis	20.2	3	
		Free flow Interstate access to proposed site on new			4-Lane from SR-194 to SR-222, 2-Lane from SR-468 to SR-1, 4-						N/A	
		routes connecting I-40 to State Routes 1, 59 and 222			Lane from I-40 to SR-468 new I-40 interchange (Exit 39), 2-Lane						Committed	
132132.01	Fayette, Haywood, Tipton	(Project Blue Oval)	Construction	\$200.00	from I-40 to SR-59 (CMGC)	SR-194 EXT	Committed	SW/WT	N/A	11.4		
100329.06	Lauderdale-Tipton	From Leigh's Chapel Road to South of SR-87 (IA)	Right-of-Way/Construction	647.00	Construction-New Interstate	1-69	Proposed	WT/NW	N/A	3.3	3	
200329.06	representation	From Leight & Chapter Road to 300th of SR-87 [IA]	Inight-on-way/construction	\$47.90	CONTROL OF THE WINDERSON	1.05	rioposeu	****/****	N/A	3.3	•	
100329.07	Lauderdale	From South of SR-87 to South of SR-19 (IA)	Right-of-Way/Construction	\$69.80	Construction-New Interstate	1-69	Proposed	WT	N/A	5.4	3	
100329.08	Lauderdale	From South of SR-19 to South of Coffee Shop Road (IA)	Right-of-Way/Construction	\$50.40	Construction-New Interstate	1-69	Proposed	WT	N/A	4.1	3	
		From South of Coffee Shop Road to South of Dry Hill										
100329.09	Lauderdale	Road (IA)	Right-of-Way/Construction	\$74.00	Construction-New Interstate	1-69	Proposed	WT	N/A	5.1	3	
							1		L		_	
100329.1	Lauderdale	From South of Dry Hill Road to North of SR-88 (IA)	Right-of-Way/Construction	\$65.70	Construction-New Interstate	1-69	Proposed	WT	N/A	5.6	3	
100329 44	Dver-Lauderdale	From North of SR-88 to North of Unionville Road	Right-of-Way/Construction	ter en	Construction-New Interstate	1-69	Proposed	NW/WT	N/A	5.6	,	
200329.11	upor unusu salic	The interest of the total of the original except	migric or way, construction	301.00	CONTROL OF THE WINDOWS		rioposcu			3.0	3	
		Ripley By-Pass, From SR-3 south of SR-209 to SR-3 north					1					
100329.14			PE/Right-of-Way/Construction	\$376.20	Study Ripley By-Pass	I-69 PROP	Proposed	WT	N/A	12.5	3	
101607.02		(Somerville Beltway), From Near SR-76 South of Somerville to Near SR-15 (US-64) East of Somerville (IA)		636.70	2-lane bypass on new alignment w/ at grade intersections	SR-460 PROP US-64	Proposed	wt	N/A	2.6	2	
101607.02	rayette	Somerville to read Sh-25 [05'64] EBSt of Somerville [IA]	Construction	\$26.70	a-raise oypess on new augminers, w/ at grade intersections	38-460 PROP US-64	Proposed	WI	N/A	2.6	- 2	
						-						

- 5. **Submit Rankings to WTRPO Executive Board MOTION** by Mr. William Veazey **SECOND** by Mr. Danny Hartsfield
- 6. **Adjournment**
- 7. **MOTION** by Mr. William Veazey to adjourn. Unanimously **APPROVED** at 3:56 pm.

