# West Tennessee Rural Planning Organization (WTRPO) Technical Committee & Executive Board Joint Meeting Meeting Minutes

UT Martin Somerville Center, Chickasaw Community Somerville, Tennessee December 6, 2021 10:05 A.M. CST

### **Executive Board Voting Members Present:**

Hon. Rhea "Skip" Taylor, Mayor of Fayette County, Chairman Hon. Maurice Gaines Jr., Mayor of Lauderdale County, Vice Chairman Mr. Glen Stringfellow, Building Inspector, City of Munford (Proxy Hon. Dwayne Cole, Mayor of Munford) Hon. Eugene Pugh, Mayor of Halls Mr. Robert Turner, Town Administrator, City of Somerville (Proxy Hon. Ronnie Neil, Mayor of Somerville)

### **Executive Board Voting Members Absent:**

Hon. Dwayne Cole, Mayor of Munford Executive Jeff Huffman, Mayor of Tipton County Hon. Ronnie Neil, Mayor of Somerville Senator Paul Rose, District 32 Representative Chris Hurt, District 82

### **Technical Committee Voting Members Present:**

Mr. Derek Kissell, Road Superintendent, Lauderdale County Mr. Robert Turner, Chairman, Town Administrator, Town of Somerville Ms. Mendi Donnelly, Community Development Director, Town of Somerville Mr. Danny Hartsfield, Director of Maintenance Lauderdale County, Lauderdale County Mayor Craig Fitzhugh, (proxy for Lin Thompson, Ripley, TN Representative, City of Ripley) Mr. Glen Stringfellow, Building Inspector, City of Munford Mr. Wayne Dowdy, Fayette County Public Works Director, Fayette County

#### **Technical Committee Voting Members Absent:**

Mr. Shannon Reed, Public Works Director, Tipton County

Ms. Pragati Srivastava, MPO Representative

Mr. Hugh Davis Jr., Citizen Representative, Commissioner of Piperton

Mr. William Veazey, Director of Planning for Tipton County

Mr. Ralph Moore, MAAG Executive Director

#### Also Present:

Ms. Kamillah Kelly, MAAG-WTRPO Coordinator
Mr. Stacy Morrison, TDOT, virtual attendee
Mr. Brian Hurst, TDOT Transportation Manager II, virtual attendee
Mr. Shelton Merrell, SWTDD-RPO Coordinator, virtual attendee
Mr. Chris Armstrong, TDOT Transportation Manager 1, Region 4, virtual attendee
Ms. Thiera Taylor, Community Transportation Planner OCT Region 4, TDOT
Ms. Ashley Owens, Senior Community Transportation Planner, OCT Region 4, TDOT
Mr. Antoine Hawkins, Planning Supervisor, OCT Region 4, TDOT
Mr. Seth Gordon, TDOT
Mr. Kelvin Willis, MAAG

Ms. Amanda Faurbo, Atoka, TN Mr. Marc Woerner, Atoka, TN Mr. Matalee Hall, Mason, TN

#### 1. Call to Order/Welcome/Introductions

Executive Board Chair Hon. Mayor Rhea "Skip" Taylor called the meeting to order at 10:05AM.

#### 2. Roll Call

Hon. Mayor Rhea "Skip" Taylor called the roll as Ms. Kamillah Kelly, WTRPO Coordinator, marked off roll. **Establish Quorum Meeting** 

### 3. Approval of Executive Board Meeting Minutes

**MOTION** by Mayor Gaines to approve the **SECONDED** by Mr. Glen Stringfellow. Unanimously **APPROVED**.

### 4. Election of WTRPO officers

Approval of WTRPO Executive Board ex officio and appointed members **MOTION** by Mayor Pugh to approve the **SECONDED** by Mayor Gaines. Unanimously **APPROVED**. Approval of WTRPO Executive Board legislative member Senator Paul Rose **MOTION** by Mayor Gaines to approve the **SECONDED** by Mr. Derek Kissell. Unanimously **APPROVED**. **MOTION** by Mayor Gaines to change WTRPO bylaws to include three TN State Representatives from the Tennessee General Assembly House of Representatives **SECONDED** by Mayor Pugh. Unanimously **APPROVED**. Approval of WTRPO Technical Committee appointed members **MOTION** by Mayor Pugh to approve the **SECONDED** by Mayor Gaines. Unanimously **APPROVED**. Approval of WTRPO Technical Committee nominated officers of Lauderdale and Fayette County **MOTION** by Mayor Pugh to approve the **SECONDED** by Mayor Gaines. Unanimously **APPROVED**.

Vote for WTRPO Tipton County Municipal Representative for the Technical Committee: Mr. Marc Woerner 8 votes and Mr. Glen Stringfellow 1 vote . Mr. Marc Woerner elected as the new Tipton County Municipal Representative.

# 5. WTRPO Updates & Grants

Ms. Kelly announced updated information about the Multimodal Access Grant; Traffic Signal Modernization Program Grant; Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP); and Transportation Planning Grant.

# 6. **TDOT Updates**

Mr. Hawkins shared updates on TDOT Highway System Access Manual, traffic monitoring cameras, and new TDOT Commissioner.

# 7. Ranking of TDOT Project Prioritization

Mr. Brian Hurst presented virtually on the TDOT Project Prioritization list for the WTRPO which included information on 3-year plan, comparison data, county economic status, project development, criteria, and score.

#### 8. **Questions/Discussion**

SR 19 and I-69 ranking significance was discussed. Other RPOs and MPOs ranking was discussed. Requested for TDOT project and development staff/ TDOT project prioritization staff; TN ECD staff; Megasite members; and TN state legislators to attend next in-person meeting to provide more information before the WTRPO Board votes on the ranking of the projects.

# 9. **TDOT Project Ranking Vote Motion**

**MOTION** by Mayor Gaines to postpone the vote of the ranking of the TDOT project list until this next meeting which will need to have more representation from TDOT project and development staff/ TDOT project prioritization staff; TN ECD staff; Megasite members; and TN state legislators the **SECONDED** by Mr. Derek Kissell. Unanimously **APPROVED.** 

### 10. **RPO Program Survey Results**

Mr. Hawkins presented information on the RPO Program Survey Results about the RPO Background, Effectiveness, Communication and Meetings, and Planning Efforts and Grants.

#### 11. **Other Business**

Approval of the Chairman and Vice Chair for the WTRPO Executive Board via yea and nay vote. All yeas. Mayor Taylor elected as Chairman and Mayor Gaines elected as Vice-Chair.

Mr. Robert Turner elected as Chair of the WTRPO Technical Committee **MOTION** by Mayor Taylor to approve the **SECONDED** by Mayor Gaines. Unanimously **APPROVED.** 

Mr. William Veazey appointed as the Vice-Chair of the WTRPO Technical Committee **MOTION** by Mayor Taylor to approve the **SECONDED** by Robert Turner. Unanimously **APPROVED**.

# 12. **Public Comment**

No public comment.

# 13. Adjournment

**MOTION** by Mr. Derek Kissell to adjourn. SECONDED by Mayor Pugh Unanimously **APPROVED** by standing.